A Comic Book Entry – My Pull List

Metaphorically speaking, anyway. I wrote how, after a long hiatus with comics, I got my hands on a copy of the Squirrel Girl Volume 1 tradeback (“Squirrel Power”) and how much I enjoyed it. So I decided to see what else was out there. In fact, I got so many tradebacks my friend D suggested I just get a subscription because it would be cheaper. I countered that a subscription would let Marvel Comics think I wanted to partake of all their offerings, whereas tradebacks show Marvel Comics what I actually want. Sure, it’s more expensive, but sometimes the extra expense is worth it. Anyway, I’m on a bit of a female superhero kick lately, so here’s what I decided to get:

Ms Marvel Vol. 2 – While I’m still upset that Marvel Comics writers thought they could just plagiarize DC’s “bang babies” scenario (see Static Shock) to get around the mutant movie rights issue, I enjoy the story in spite of the origin. It goes back to Marvel Comics roots of the adventures of superpowered angsty teenagers.

Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur Vols. 1 & 2 – I’ve got to say, I’m not too sure about this one. The art is very nice, particularly for Devil, but Lunella (Moon Girl) is a 9 year-old super-genius and as such is obnoxious and makes very poor decisions. There’s a bit of Dexter’s Lab in the comic, as she somehow has her own secret lair, and Kids Next Door in that she cobbles together mostly 2×4 technology (but she is nine; super-genius or not, a 9 year-old doesn’t have the resources to get her hands on an arc reactor, or even the precious metals and equipment to make one). I’m giving this one a little time because most of Lunella’s bad decisions so far have been because she knows if she’s exposed to the bang baby gas…I mean, terrigen gas, she’ll turn into a NuHuman and she’s deathly scared. No one makes good decisions when frightened, especially not a little kid.

The Unbelievable Gwenpool Vol. 1 – This comic is an experiment in meta-humor. The lead character is a “real” teenager girl named Gwen Poole who finds herself in the Marvel Universe. Being genre savvy, a Marvel fangirl, but not having much in the way of superpowers, she immediately dons a costume because in a superhero universe there are heroes, there are villains, and then there are victims. She narrates to herself because she assumes she is now in a comic herself that someone is reading. Thinking she is the hero of her own story, she’s more reckless than even Deadpool (and she does not have powers) and assumes whatever she does, even killing people, must be the right thing to do and will always work out for her. In a nice twist, she meets up with Dr. Strange who regards his world as the “real world” and theorizes all the comic books and movies in Gwen’s world are just echoes of the “real world” finding their way into her universe. It takes a lot to faze that guy. If I had to give her power a name, it would be “Main Character Status.” As an aside, the first issue makes me want to check out the newest “Howard the Duck” series.

Squirrel Girl Vol. 2 (“Squirrel You Know it’s True”) – Squirrel Girl gets a posse! I love it. I love everything about it and I especially love Doreen’s roommate who is totally not fooled by that “Clark Kenting” BS even though Doreen is. The unreliable, mostly secret narrator remains unreliable, the story engaging, and the artwork a perfect match. I’ve got to find Vol. 3.

Published by

awritershailmarypass

S. J. Drew is an aspiring writer who finally entered the blogosphere to shamelessly promote that writing (as evidenced by the title of the blog). Whether or not this works remains to be seen, but S. J. hopes you are at least entertained. And if you're actually reading this, that's probably a good sign.

Leave a Reply

