A Writing Entry – What the Heck Happened to Publishing?

Okay, first I think I’m going to have to switch my posting day from Wednesday to Thursday for completely selfish reasons that have to do with my newly scheduled demon-slaying. I’ll still aim for Saturday/Sunday though, with Sunday being more likely. Saturday nights I generally stay up too late pretending I’m a superhero.

Right, to the matter at hand…

So here I am, two years after I self-published my last “Nevermore and the Ravens” novel and I do not have the fourth one ready to go. I said I would at this time last year, and again I have to admit defeat. I haven’t given up on my dream of being an author, but I have no one to blame for my lack of product but myself.

Two years ago, I made a conscious decision to try to take my life in a dramatically different direction. I knew if that decision panned out, much of my routine would be irrevocably altered and demands on my time would increase. I don’t want to say I expected everything to change, but I did expect many if not most of my priorities would change. So with an imperfect understanding of the consequences, I embarked on my new adventure.

The first few months were slow and I actually got some writing done, although it wasn’t easy. Still, progress was slowly made. But about the middle of last year, events started to pick up some steam and I found a greater demand on my energy that left me with little motivation to actually write. It soon became clear to me, although I didn’t want to admit it, that I would miss my self-imposed one-year deadline. I was disappointed, but there was no turning back.

Through the winter, the changes came faster and more extreme. I had so little energy to devote to my writing that even the blog tapered off, and I usually can muster the energy to vent my spleen about some aspect of pop culture that irritates the heck out of me. New year’s came and went and I was still just trying to tread water. As I predicted, events accelerated quite rapidly around the Chinese New Year. And of course there was another unexpected employment change that came along in the midst of all this because what’s a little more chaos, after all?

So here I am with no book ready to publish for the second year in a row. I don’t regret the decision I made two years ago. I was part of a gestalt being for a little while, and I still have another’s DNA floating around in my bloodstream. I learned a lot about love, fear, and pain (and more importantly, my pain threshold and the miracle of modern medicine). At times, I still can’t quite believe that this is my life (cue the Talking Heads). I’m still trying to find a new normal in my life, but I may have to accept there will never be a new normal and my life will be in a constant state of flux to a greater or lesser degree. If that’s the case, I hope to use those times of lesser flux to try to finish my novel. I still want to, and I think about it, but it’s really hard to find the time to dedicate to it. A blog I can write in discrete, 15 minute increments. A novel requires much more than that, at least for me.

Finishing the fourth “Nevermore” novel is still a goal of mine and I really hope that next Halloween this blog will be dedicated to the shameless self-promotion I set it up for. In the meantime, please check the links for my existing works. They are still completely free to all!

Published by

awritershailmarypass

S. J. Drew is an aspiring writer who finally entered the blogosphere to shamelessly promote that writing (as evidenced by the title of the blog). Whether or not this works remains to be seen, but S. J. hopes you are at least entertained. And if you're actually reading this, that's probably a good sign.

Leave a Reply

