A Media Entry – Random Weekend Update

Sorry for the radio silence, but I’ve been spending rather a lot of time with an alien, and eventually got infected with a disease a friend deemed, “gargle lung.” Symptoms include fever, congestion, and attempting to expel slime from the system with such force you’re afraid the lungs will end up expelled as well. This is, as you imagine, gross. But my fault really for hanging around an alien. So while I finally feel human enough to post, I don’t have the energy to get into too much detail. Enjoy the randomness.

Black Widow Movie
I haven’t watched Saturday Night Live in a long, long time. I think I was watching it in one of it’s “good” phases but I really don’t know. Anyway, given my schedule it’s just not something I’ve paid attention to. However, a recent beer-tasting reminded me of its existence and I find some of the clips, at least, are pretty darn funny. For example, I want a Black Widow movie, as do the SNL writers, but they have rather more reservations about it than I do… see the mock trailer.

Live-Action Disney Remakes
Goodness knows I’ve complained about this at length, and don’t think I’m going to stop, especially in five years when a live-action Frozen comes to a theater near you. But in my re-acquaintence with SNL, I discovered the writers feel much the same way I do, and produced a mock trailer for a potential Disney live-action remake of a most unlikely movie. The irony? I would totally watch the hell out of that movie.

Plot Hole Filled
Speaking of Frozen, I’ve had a bit to say about this smash hit movie. To summarize, I think it’s good but not great and there are some really baffling storytelling choices. One major choice is that Elsa and Anna’s parents are just the worst, and the other major choice is Hans’ sudden face-heel turn. Well, the good people at Cracked.com have a theory about that which makes sense both in the context of the movie and in the meta-context of a Disney animated movie.

Unexpected Meta
I’ve been reading me a lot of Agatha Christie novels lately, and while Hercule Poirot and Jane Marple are her most famous characters, there are many more in her catalogue. Interestingly to me, as she wrote she got more meta about being an author of detective fiction. Many of her characters start mocking the tropes of detective stories during the course of the murder investigation. In one story, the detective asks a child of a potential suspect if he likes mystery novels, and the child replies that he’s read them all including Dorothy Sayers (a contemporary mystery writer) and Agatha Christie. There’s also a character named “Ariadne Oliver,” who is a mystery writer with an appearance that seems rather like Dame Christie’s. Mrs. Oliver’s best known detective is a Finn who is also vegetarian (as opposed to a Belgian who is also an obsessive-compulsive fop), and when asked why she wrote him that way by an inquiring fan, Mrs. Oliver says she doesn’t know. Mrs. Oliver is not an Author Avatar to the degree of Harriet Vane, but more of a guest star in some of the mysteries who acts as a catalyst for the actual detective. I guess I just think of meta-humor as a modern or post-modern societal convention, so I’m surprised when I find elsewhere. Perhaps I shouldn’t be.

Anyway, that’s your lot. I will endeavor to avoid any more powerful respiratory infections and be more timely with my rants.

Published by

awritershailmarypass

S. J. Drew is an aspiring writer who finally entered the blogosphere to shamelessly promote that writing (as evidenced by the title of the blog). Whether or not this works remains to be seen, but S. J. hopes you are at least entertained. And if you're actually reading this, that's probably a good sign.

Leave a Reply

