A Media Entry – Random Thoughts of the Midweek: The Randomness Awakens

So many trailers have come out recently to entice me to spend my time/money within the next few months. Did the trailers work? Er, well, I’m still feeling pretty “meh” about upcoming attractions I should in theory be more excited about.

Star Wars: The Force Awakens – I know I should be going nuts for this. New studio. New director. New direction. New (and more diverse) leads. New look. A saga for a new generation. Everything seems to point to something amazing. And yet all I feel is that leftover bitterness that gnaws at my soul created by too many special editions that made the original trilogy worse and that horribly disappointing set of prequels. So much that was good was messed up and I simply can’t get excited.

Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice – I know a full, new trailer is supposed to be released tonight, but I went ahead and saw the teaser anyway. I have several questions. What is going on? Why is it happening? Why is Batman wearing a trench coat over his costume? What’s with the yellow? I think the director may be better at designing custom Instagram filters than directing… I mean, seriously, what’s with the yellow? Also, so much scowling and frowning (I call this filter “Angsty Jaundice”).

For anyone who really wants to watch Batman and Superman in a movie together, I can’t recommend the animated movie The Batman Superman Movie: World’s Finest highly enough. Batman and Superman briefly clash, and then put aside their differences to fight villains because that’s what heroes do, damn it! Also, they’re fighting Lex Luthor and the Joker, and it is amazing.

Also, also, what’s the point of this? There’s no kryptonite in this continuity. The only way Batman could possibly be a match for Superman is with kryptonite and time to prepare. Superman has already smashed up train cars, tanker trucks, and buildings. No armored suit, even with bat-ears, is going to be a match. And “Because he’s Batman!” is not an effective counter-argument. No one would argue Iron Man could beat Superman. If Iron Man can’t beat Superman, then neither can Batman.

Captain America: Civil War – Hey, while I am more of a Marvel fan, I’ll admit when an upcoming movie just doesn’t excite me. I made no plans to see Ant-man and I don’t feel I’ve missed much, except apparently the retrieval of the Winter Soldier which sets the plot in motion for this film. The comic book storyline was just a disaster. Individual comics were well-written, but the overall arc was confused and the resolution was unsatisfactory. Seeing the latest trailer doesn’t ease any of my misgivings about attempting to adapt this storyline. I’ll wait for the reviews before I spend any money to see this.

Agent Carter: Season 2 – Okay, this entices me to watch. Of course, I’m totally crushing on Peggy Carter anyway (picture me looking like this). But to see her back in the business of kicking ass and taking names is exactly what I want to see. Steve Rogers really did miss out on the best thing in his life.

Well, it seems I’ll be spending time with the old TV rather than in a movie theater at this rate.

Published by

awritershailmarypass

S. J. Drew is an aspiring writer who finally entered the blogosphere to shamelessly promote that writing (as evidenced by the title of the blog). Whether or not this works remains to be seen, but S. J. hopes you are at least entertained. And if you're actually reading this, that's probably a good sign.

Leave a Reply

