A Media Entry – Random Thoughts of the Mid-week, Part 13: The Quest for Randomness

It’s midweek and I can’t put together a coherent argument on anything, so here are some mini-musings on various media.

Deadpool – Yes, of course I saw all the teasers and trailers available. Because of course. I am cautiously optimistic. I hope the movie doesn’t veer off course into “generic action flick” territory (like its quasi-sequel). I noticed that Deadpool’s subtitles were yellow, and that gave me a bit of hope that someone actually has read Deadpool’s comics. I think Ryan Reynolds is actually a good choice. See, I’ve not seen Ryan Reynolds in very many movies, and those I have seen, well, aren’t very good. So I wasn’t sure he could really pull off the loveable sociopath that is Wade Wilson. But so far, this seems okay. Still, Fox doesn’t have a great track record, and they have months to muck up the movie with re-shoots, so I’m going to remain cautious.

Top Gear – the British version, of course. There’s a few seasons available on Netflix, and while I think it’s been cancelled because one of the hosts got fired and the other two wouldn’t stay on, it’s still a good series to watch. I’m not really a car person, either. My car is plain and sensible and ten years old. But I appreciate the idea of a super-car even it’s not something I’d ever spend my money on. The three hosts are a lot of fun to watch and represent to the Freudian stereotypes – Richard is the Id, Jeremy is the Ego, and James is the Superego. It’s also fun to watch the producers give them challenges and realize that while they truly, deeply love cars, for the most part they don’t even know how to change the oil (they do get better as time goes on). You also get to watch the likes of Sir Michael Gambon almost kill himself going around the track in the “Star in a Reasonably Priced Car” section.

Shaun the Sheep – speaking of British TV series, this is one I highly recommend. Yes, it’s aimed at kids, but so what? From the studio that made the “Wallace and Gromit” shorts and Chicken Run, the series follows the adventures of Shaun (the sheep featured in “A Close Shave”) and his dull flock as they make trouble for the guard dog and evade the farmer. No one actually talks, at least not in a way that’s understandable, so the humor is all visual. Much of it is outright slapstick, but some is as subtle as an eyeroll. Shaun is not just smart for a sheep (because that isn’t a high bar there) but smart period. His fellow flock members, well, not so much. I ended up watching it because a friend of mine with kids told me I would like it. He was right. Also, Shaun the Sheep the Movie is out right now, and I’m going to go see that even though I am an adult with no children. I don’t have to be grown up all the time. But I think I will aim for a late night showing so the theater won’t have any pesky children (one can hope, anyway; a friend of mine had the misfortune of attending a 10:30 PM showing of Resident Evil 3 in which a woman brought in her baby and her toddler…).

"He's Shaun the Sheep, he's Shaun the Sheep; he doesn't ever miss a trick or skip a beat..."
Published by

awritershailmarypass

S. J. Drew is an aspiring writer who finally entered the blogosphere to shamelessly promote that writing (as evidenced by the title of the blog). Whether or not this works remains to be seen, but S. J. hopes you are at least entertained. And if you're actually reading this, that's probably a good sign.

Leave a Reply

