A Media Entry – Random Thoughts of the Mid-week, Part 9: The Random World

Video games, making fun of movies, and television shows…

There is No Cow Level – Once upon a time, I was introduced to a game called StarCraft. It was an older game when I got my grubby paws on it, but it was so well done all the nerds I went to college with still loved it. I played the expansion Brood Wars as well. And then StarCraft 2 was supposed to come out and I waited, and waited, and waited, and waited as the Blizzard staff changed and focus shifted to the Diablo franchise and then turning World of Warcraft into a MMORPG. Somewhere in there I was promised a first person shooter starring a StarCraft ghost, but that didn’t happen. And I was sad. And then StarCraft 2 came out, finally, but was outside my price range. I am still sad about that.

But now I see advertisements for a new Blizzard game called Heroes of the Storm which appears to allow the StarCraft characters to fight the Diablo characters to fight the WoW characters (and it looks like this includes the ghost from the lost FPS). I may have to try this out because I can’t tell you how much I want to drop a nuclear bomb on a lich, or see a necromancer use “corpse explosion” on the remains of a zergling rush. But we’ll see; it’s free when it comes out but I doubt it will stay that way.

By the by, my favorite race was the Terrans, and in particular I had a fondness for fully upgraded siege tanks and goliaths. The ghosts were cool, but I always thought if I had to actually develop the ghosts, I had failed because the game should have been over much sooner than that. Never cared for the Terran air units though (I thought mutalisks were by far the best air unit in the game). Also, the programmers had a great sense of humor. I hope the hell bovines make into Heroes of the Storm because yes, there is indeed a cow level.

Agent CarterMy crush Peggy Carter is actually getting another season. I don’t care if it’s a truncated filler series between seasons of Agents of SHIELD. I’m so happy she’s coming back. I just wish I didn’t have to wait until next year. But hey, I’ll get two more episodes for my wait.

“Saturday Morning Cartoon Fun Pit” – this is the title of Futurama‘s sixth episode of season ten. As I’ve already made clear, I watched waaay too many cartoons as a kid. This is a spoof of three Saturday morning cartoons and I actually didn’t even get the whole joke for “G.I. Zapp” until the second viewing. You don’t need to know anything in particular about the cast of Futurama to get the jokes either. It’s on Netflix. Watch it, then watch it again.

RiffTraxJurassic Park with special guest riffer Weird Al. One, that movie still really holds up. Two, Jurassic Park in the day time is not so frightening.

Published by

awritershailmarypass

S. J. Drew is an aspiring writer who finally entered the blogosphere to shamelessly promote that writing (as evidenced by the title of the blog). Whether or not this works remains to be seen, but S. J. hopes you are at least entertained. And if you're actually reading this, that's probably a good sign.

Leave a Reply

