A Media Entry – Random Thoughts of the Mid-week Part 4: Rise of the Randomness

Again, my fevered hamster brain can’t focus on anything long enough for a full-on rant or praise, so please enjoy these tidbits of weirdness.

Frogs – Think Birdemic but made in 1972 and with much higher production values.  I think this was meant to be a horror movie, but it wasn’t.  The plot, such as it is, is that an eco-reporter gets stranded on a private swamp island owned by a weird, Southern-ish rich family full of terrible people that is under siege by the vengeful fauna and flora.  Also, it stars a young Sam Elliott.  That is pretty damn surreal by itself because I just sort of assumed he was always the stereotype of a grizzled cowboy.  Seeing him young, not gray, not grizzled, and clean-shaven, is just odd.  But anyway, despite the title, the frogs don’t kill anyone although I think they were the masterminds.  The true weirdness of the movie is that it seems like it was started off as a thriller centering around this broken family and then this “nature’s revenge” horror plot was just tacked on.  Sadly, I think Rubber made more sense.

Again, I think this might tell you more about my Saturday nights than I’d like you to know…

Emma Frost – My loathing of this character as a hero is well-documented (my appreciation of this character as a villain is less well-documented), but after doing a bit of a search for my last entry on true love, Marvel comics-style, I read through the current Marvel Wiki page for Emma Frost.  I am amazed at the lengths the writers have gone through to shoehorn her into the X-universe as a sympathetic anti-hero through retconning.  And also to hook her up with Namor, for some reason.  Despite her professing love for Cyclops, saying the words doesn’t make it so.  Love is shown in action, not just empty words on a page.  And breaking up a marriage you’ve been tasked to help save is NOT love.  ARGH!  But with the extensive retconning, maybe this is why over 40% of people who voted in that poll selected “true love.”

Spider-man – So apparently Sony realized that while it in many ways started the superhero movie renaissance, it had long since lost the ability to actually make good movies (and primarily because the executives couldn’t stop meddling).  So Spider-man shall finally join the MCU and Marvel Studios will have creative control.  I am grateful for that.  But also rumored is that after Spider-man appears in whatever movie they’ve shoved him into, Sony/Marvel will release a solo movie.  And rumors are that it will be yet another origin story.  I’m so sick of Peter Parker’s origin story.  This will be what, the third reboot in ten years?  This is ridiculous.  Now, if Miles Morales was going to be Spider-man, I’d be interested in that.  I am really not interested in seeing a re-hash of the same old thing.

Star Trek – Last week Leonard Nimoy made that last journey to join those who have gone before.  While I know he had a larger body of work than Star Trek, I think it’s fair to say he defined the role of Spock.  I related to Spock.  Spock was an alien trying to understand these crazy, irrational humans, and as an outcast, nerdy kid, I felt the same way.  Spock always had to fight his own crazy, irrational side and I understood that too.  And like Spock, eventually I had to come to grips with my  perceived otherness and make peace with myself and others.  I learned, after too long perhaps, I was not so different from those around me, and that was not a bad thing.

Live long and prosper.

Published by

awritershailmarypass

S. J. Drew is an aspiring writer who finally entered the blogosphere to shamelessly promote that writing (as evidenced by the title of the blog). Whether or not this works remains to be seen, but S. J. hopes you are at least entertained. And if you're actually reading this, that's probably a good sign.

Leave a Reply

