A Media Entry – Random Thoughts of the Mid-week Part 3: Random Boogaloo

So, go get your flu shot.  I didn’t, and this week I have:

a) gotten behind on every project because so far I haven’t made it to work
b) wrapped myself in a blanket only to keep shivering
c) found out the misery of a fever does not increase linearly with each degree but exponentially (i.e., 102 feels a hundred times worse than 100)
d) subsisted primarily on water, crackers, and sugar-free cough drops (“cherry” flavor)
e) coughed so hard it hurts to swallow and I can barely talk.

I could use this time to binge on The Walking Dead but I think I’m pretty much there.  So here are the thoughts from literally fevered brain.

Rubber – I watched a movie about a sentient tire that exploded people’s heads with its psychic powers for no reason.  I am not making this up.  This was the sort of movie that seemed like a pretentious theater student’s thesis project.  Also, when I think of all the ways the world could end, “death by army of sentient, psychic tires” wouldn’t have made my top 100.  The other movie option my friends offered was called Blood Glacier about, well, a killer glacier.  That movie and Rubber both had higher ratings than Cheerleader Ninjas.

This probably tells you more about how I spend my Saturday nights than perhaps I really want anyone to know…

Agent Carter – still awesome.  Watch it.  This is a really great example of what a prequel should do for a series.  Currently the best prequels I’ve encountered in any media are the ones for Dune.  Adequate prequels answer questions you had about the original piece of media, bad prequels answer unimportant questions you didn’t have about the original piece of media, and good prequels answer important questions you didn’t have about the original piece of media.  In the “Hobbitmovies, the only bit of information that qualified in that sense was “why did it seem Legolas and Aragorn already knew each other?”  Well, Agent Carter answers a very important question about the background of one of the Avengers in a way that makes sense and doesn’t detract from the story being told about Agent Carter.

“Dr. Horrible’s Sing-along-Blog” – I haven’t thought about this in a long time, but I came across a review of it and found out the DVD release had an entirely new musical on it appropriately titled, “Commentary! The Musical.”  It’s absolutely worth the price of the DVD.  There are some other extras and my favorite is the “Evil League of Evil” application videos.  I wish I had known about the contest at the time, but some very talented amateurs put together their best shot at joining Bad Horse and the rest and I was entertained, impressed, and somewhat depressed that I lack that kind of talent.  Still, well worth the price and highly recommended.

Munchkin – I won the zombie apocalypse as an atomic scientist zombie.  Although given my current condition, I’m really more of a plague zombie.

Published by

awritershailmarypass

S. J. Drew is an aspiring writer who finally entered the blogosphere to shamelessly promote that writing (as evidenced by the title of the blog). Whether or not this works remains to be seen, but S. J. hopes you are at least entertained. And if you're actually reading this, that's probably a good sign.

Leave a Reply

