A Media Entry – A Salute to Snark

I was lamenting my lack of doing research and pondering that such a mistake could be the origin of a superhero called Captain Otaku, who searched the world literally righting wrongs.  And then I realized there are plenty of Captain Otaku expies out there, and I for one am grateful to them.  I am so grateful I’ll even share links to their work.  “But wait, S.J.,” I hear the voices in my head saying to me, “if all you’re going to do is post links and pithy descriptions, isn’t this like the blog equivalent of a lame ’80s sitcom clip show?”  To which I reply, “What the hell is that?”
.
.
.
.
So, yes, I am glad there are people out there who have so much time available to them and more importantly enthusiasm for their chosen obsession, that they post their snark out on the internet for me to enjoy.  In addition to Captain Otaku, there is a whole Legion of Snark Knights.  There’s Fanboy, whose power to go into a nerd rage keeps all those who witness amused (albeit at a safe distance).  There’s Wiki-Wonderkind, who doesn’t know everything yet, but has made it her mission to fix those wiki articles she knows are wrong.  And of course, the Deadpan Snarker, who must make fun of all things whether there’s a chance the person in the wrong will learn otherwise.

Movies:
RiffTraxI love these guys.  I saw a broadcast of them riffing Birdemic live.  It was one of the funniest things I have ever seen, although to be fair they had some seriously ridiculous (and no that is not an oxymoron) source material to work with.

HowItShouldHaveEnded – how movies should have ended, and sometimes video games, and there’s a long-running gag between Batman and Superman which is pretty funny.  Usually predicated on finding a giant, gaping plothole in the movie, which, if exploited, could have wrapped everything up in about 20 minutes.

Honest Trailers – movies cut to trailer-length with commentary.  If you want to know what a movie is actually about, this pretty much sums it up.  Also, I admire a group so dedicated to their craft they actually got people to sing the trailer to Les Miserables.

CinemaSins – an accounting of those nagging plotholes in movies; some gaping, some just the result of poor editing, and mostly just funny.

Comic Books:
ItsJustSomeRandomGuy – this is a guy that clearly loves comic books and both universes.  His characterizations of the beloved superheroes is absolutely spot on.  The “I’m a Marvel/I’m a DC” and movie parodies are short, and the “Happy/After/Zero Hour” form a coherent plot of his world.

Linkara – he is a man!  Who rips into bad comic books, and has his own storyline in his videos because why the heck not.  He’s a DC guy, but a bad comic is a bad comic so he’ll take on Marvel as well.  His review of “Ultimates 3” made me laugh and want to punch the “creative team” in the face.

Randomness:
TvTropes – it will ruin your life and waste your time.  I can’t recommend it highly enough.

The Comics Curmudgeon – it turns out print isn’t completely dead and neither are comic strips.  Amazing Spider-man is seriously lame, but hey, at least he’s married.  Soap opera strips are ridiculous, undead strips lurch along years past their creators passing, and nothing, nothing, is more depressing than a pizza at Montoni’s.

Seriously, I am grateful there are people out here who can do this.  I’m so grateful I even sit through the ads so these people can garner a few cents from the advertisers for what is certainly many hours of work.  These are the sorts of people that made sure Duck Dodgers has an entry on the DC Wiki for Green Lantern.  I admire that kind of labor of love.  I certainly have no time, or patience, or boundless creativity to devote to becoming Captain Otaku.  And should I wish to dedicate myself so, I would probably find someone has taken my schtick already.  No, I am no Captain Otaku.  At best, I’m a Rick Jones or Jimmy Olsen, the eager kid sidekick who longs to be like those mighty Snark Knights but will never achieve such heights (unlike Rick Jones and Jimmy Olsen who did get superpowers every now and again [hell, I think Rick’s still got some]).  So, to all those who are much more awesome than I am, thank you!

Published by

awritershailmarypass

S. J. Drew is an aspiring writer who finally entered the blogosphere to shamelessly promote that writing (as evidenced by the title of the blog). Whether or not this works remains to be seen, but S. J. hopes you are at least entertained. And if you're actually reading this, that's probably a good sign.

Leave a Reply

