A Writing Entry – Another Rant on Writer’s Block

So I’ve been toying with the idea to write for Cracked.com.  I figured it would be a good way to try to put myself out to a wide audience as a writer.  I enjoy the site very much and find most of the articles to be as well researched as one can expect for a site that’s largely concerned with boobs and dick jokes.  By the way, the novice title for a contributor to Cracked is, in fact, “Purveyor of Dick Jokes.”  I was not surprised.

I am an interested observer in popular culture but not an active participant.  I watched a lot more television when I was young (like Saturday morning and afternoon cartoons), but that was before I had a car and was old enough to drink.  Freedoms changed my habits considerably, although you can tell by certain entries I still watch a lot of cartoons (I like cartoons!).  There are some parts of pop culture I do follow and occasionally spent too much time thinking about (like comic books and comic book movies).  It is no coincidence most of the “Fifteen-minute Movies” are in fact comic book adaptations.  I consider myself a geek/nerd but I’m dreadfully ignorant of many aspects of even that narrow genre.  I only follow a few comic book titles.  I never watched all of ST:DS9, and I haven’t even finished David Tennant’s run as the Doctor.  The most I’ve had to do with Doctor Who lately was a month or so ago when I pulled out my TARDIS USB hub, plugged it in, and it caught fire (I put it out fairly quickly but I’m sure I breathed some toxic fumes).  I haven’t seen the rebooted “Star Trek” movie although I’ve been told it’s quite good.  I have read all of the “Harry Potter” books and seen all of the movies.  I obviously have the extended cuts of the LOTR movies as well (so… much… walking…).  And TV shows?  Wow I’m behind.

So, I determined that pop culture was not the avenue to pursue to write for Cracked.  By the way, check out their “After Hours” video on Spider-man.  This pretty much sums up how I feel about poor Universe 616 Peter Parker (also, I think Bendis is either a really good writer or really wants to punish his characters [poor Miles]).  Luckily, I like science!  I in fact work in a STEM field.  Like most children, I wanted to be a paleontologist when I grew up.  Then I realized that involved a lot of tedious, back-breaking labor for not a lot of pay or employment opportunities so I scratched that dream (I was a really odd child).  But my love of dinosaurs and all things prehistoric (well, not all things; I really don’t care too much about prehistoric insects [except the giant dragonflies] or plant life) persisted.  I also love all things astronomical and am fascinated by the seriously weird things in outer space (Saturn has a hexagonal storm; seriously, a storm with winds that make a freakin’ hexagon!).

Yeah, it turns out many of those topics already had articles or were/are in the process of being written.  Here I thought I had this super-secret geek knowledge about thagomizers and diamond planets only to find out several people had the same knowledge and beaten me to the punch.  I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised.  Geeks/nerds like science.

This leaves me pretty much back at Square 1.  Stuff I know has already been done and I can’t write what I don’t know.  So I’m considering a different avenue again, possibly concerning all those books I read that pretty much no one ever reads except for high school English class.  Maybe I can write some article on how famous comic book stories are just re-tellings of old classics (I.e, “The Strange Case of Dr. Banner and Mr. Hulk” or “Pym” [instead of “Frankenstein”]).  But I can only think of one or two items and then I run out.

I guess there’s nothing to do except keep thinking.  C’mon, fevered writer’s brain and fickle Muse, think of something.  I’m sure I’ll turn up something soon.

Published by

awritershailmarypass

S. J. Drew is an aspiring writer who finally entered the blogosphere to shamelessly promote that writing (as evidenced by the title of the blog). Whether or not this works remains to be seen, but S. J. hopes you are at least entertained. And if you're actually reading this, that's probably a good sign.

Leave a Reply

