A Comic Book Entry – Five-minute Origin Story: Strange Beginnings

This short entry is an experiment.  A lot of comic books feature characters with convoluted (and often retconned) origin stories.  Sometimes movies pare these down a bit, but sometimes not, and not every character out there has a movie (yet).  So this is my first attempt at a five-minute version of a super-hero origin story.

Dr. Strange
Strange – Ah, it is a great day to be a gifted yet arrogant surgeon.  Yes, saving lives through medicine is certainly my destiny in life.

–a car accident damages his hands, making it impossible to continue being a surgeon–

Strange – Well, that sucks, but I am confident medical science will restore full use of my hands so that I may go back to my destiny of saving lives.

–years pass and no cure is forthcoming–

Strange – Fine!  Fine!  If science can’t cure me, then I will turn my back on all my scientific and medical training and seeking out magical aid.

–surprisingly, this works and soon he finds the Ancient One–

Ancient One’s Ancient Abode:
Strange – Can you please fix my hands so I can go back to being a surgeon?  I’ve kept up on the latest medical advances so I can re-enter the field.

Ancient One – Is your last name really ‘Strange?’

Strange – Yes.  Why would I lie about that?

Ancient One – I’m just saying no one has that name.  Especially paired with ‘Stephen.’  I mean, an alliterated name like that, and the last name of ‘Strange’ is obviously made up.

Strange – Fine, fine, I have an odd name.  Please fix my hands.

Ancient One – You should learn magic instead.

Strange – No, really, I just want my hands to be healed.  I’m not into magic.  I really want to be a doctor.

Ancient One – Well, stay the night and think it over.

Strange – Sure, whatever.

–Later that night…–

Baron Mordo – Hey, new guy.

Strange – Hey, creepy guy.

Mordo – So I’m the Ancient One’s student and I think I’m ready to kill him and take his place.  You want to help?

Strange – *blink blink*  Nooo!!!  I just want my hands fixed!

Mordo – Okay, well, I guess I didn’t actually expect you to say ‘no.’  I might have to kill you now.

Strange – I don’t care who’s the powerful mystical sorcerer, okay?  I’m not going to tell on you.

Mordo – And for some reason I believe that.  Laters! –leaves–

Strange – This is not my problem.  This is not my problem.  Argh, damn it! –goes to warn the Ancient One–  Hey, that Mordo guy is going to kill you!

Mordo – You ruined everything.  I kill you now! –attempts to do so–

Ancient One – Enough!  –prevents Mordo from killing Strange–  That’s it!  I am done with you!  Get out! –throws Mordo out–

Strange – Wow, it’s a good thing I was here.

Ancient One – Eh, I expected Mordo would betray me sooner or later.  This was just a convenient test to find out his true loyalties.

Strange – Hey!

Ancient One – So, I need a new apprentice to learn everything I know before I die.  I think it ought to be you.

Strange – What?!

Ancient One – Yes, this is definitely destiny.

Strange – Argh, fine!  As long as I can get my hands fixed.  How long can this take?

–fast forward several years–

Ancient One – And since I’m dying, you’ll have to be the next Sorcerer Supreme and protect the world from terrible ancient evils and other supernatural threats. –dies–

Strange – Argh!  I just wanted to be a surgeon!  Now I’ve completely lost touch with the medical world and ended up the supreme magic-user?  Man, I bet that Mordo guy is totally going to try to kill me for this.

–Strange is so, so, right–

-Fin-

Published by

awritershailmarypass

S. J. Drew is an aspiring writer who finally entered the blogosphere to shamelessly promote that writing (as evidenced by the title of the blog). Whether or not this works remains to be seen, but S. J. hopes you are at least entertained. And if you're actually reading this, that's probably a good sign.

Leave a Reply

